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  • Other Added - Banner or Pay-per-Click - Which On-Line Advertisement Suits Your Business?

    PHPBB: You Can Simplify the Set Up Process!
    In several previous articles I mentioned my having downloaded and installed the fantastic PHPBB open source forum. I shared with readers the lengthy and tedious process of selecting the right mirror, downloading the files to my computer, and following all the long, drawn out, and complicated set up steps. Fortunately, what was once a procedure that took the better part of a day can now take 30 minutes or less to complete! Let’s take a look how you can shorten the entire set up process and start benefiting from this free, popular program.When I set up my first two PHPBB forums in June 2005, I did so under duress. Just days earlier, my then message board host – EZBoard – had their entire system shut down by hackers. Or so they claimed. My two popular sites, the Aviation Employment Board and the Corporate Flight Attendant Community were left in the dark as EZBoard’s system rendered the sites virtually inoperable. With a repair promised, but several weeks
    other distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server.

    CPM

    CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. F

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    I'm sorry to say that right now we are running for his low on one of our most valuable occupations. At present, we are experiencing an alarming shortage of trained and licensed nurses to fill the positions that are critical to quality of care for the healthcare consumer. And with an aging population this is becoming a very serious problem.On every floor in a hospital, nurses are practicing in a wide variety of nursing fields, from an emergency room nurse assessing a heart attack victim, to the nurse that provides education and skill polishing to the whole nursing and medical staff. Nurses were a variety of hats, far removed from what we are all used to seeing in those old movies. Nurses are advocates for their patients, and are greatly responsible for the level of care received by the patient, and their lasting memory of the experience.Nurses number one priority is the care and treatment of the patient, not what the treatment as to how well th
    Banners are perhaps the oldest and most common mode of advertisement in the Internet. In its simplest form - it acts like a billboard, spreading a promotional message and helping interested visitors to visit concerned web-site.

    Difference between a physical billboard and on-line banner advertisement lies in ability of the later to measure campaign effectiveness. Unlike traditional ad media like TV or print where measuring audience response is difficult - its possible to obtain clear and accurate measurements of success or failure of on-line ads through web traffic analysis.

    How good is banner advertisement for your business ? Should you adopt this known and trusted method or prefer new ones like search engine based Pay-per-Click (PPC) advertising ? The answer lies in your requirement and an understanding of what banner advertisement can deliver.

    Let us discuss various concepts associated with on-line advertisement and analyze how banner advertisement works.

    Banner or Pay-per-Click - What Kind of On-Line Advertisement Suits my Business ?

    An Organization usually creates online advertising campaign for achieving following goals:

    • Building brand awareness
    • Increasing website traffic
    • Creating leads and sales
    You need to analyze your precise requirements and prioritize the objectives of planned ad campaign. If the objective is brand building or pure promotion - banner advertisement is ideally suited. However, if you are more keen on leads and sales - targeted advertisements such as search engine marketing could be better option. In many cases - a mix of banner ad and search engine marketing could be the answer.

    Key Concepts Associated with On-Line Advertisement

    Before proceeding any further, it is important to understand a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements in general and banner advertisement in particular.

    Impression

    Impression is a measure of how many times an ad has been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad or received an "impression" by seeing the ad - is a measurement of responses from the ad delivery system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner on a web page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different from page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views within one page view. There is another distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server.

    CPM

    CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. Fo

    Pre-Screening Job Applicants: The Truth is in the Details
    The best use of an interviewer’s time is spent prior to meeting the applicant. A quality prescreen of each candidate does two things: It saves the interviewer time by identifying undesirable candidates up front and allows the interviewer to prepare more fully and tailor the interview to each candidate. A quality prescreen should include a thorough review of all materials furnished by the applicant with a focus on consistency and truth in the details. The interviewer should attempt to gain some insight into each candidate prior to the interview.• Never write on original copies of pre-employment documentation!Instead, use worksheets or make two copies of the documents. Use one copy to take notes on during the review and the other in case of an interview.• Never begin a pre-employment investigation before having a signed application and information release.A powerful tactic in prescreening applicants with resumes is to first acc
    nner advertisement for your business ? Should you adopt this known and trusted method or prefer new ones like search engine based Pay-per-Click (PPC) advertising ? The answer lies in your requirement and an understanding of what banner advertisement can deliver.

    Let us discuss various concepts associated with on-line advertisement and analyze how banner advertisement works.

    Banner or Pay-per-Click - What Kind of On-Line Advertisement Suits my Business ?

    An Organization usually creates online advertising campaign for achieving following goals:

    • Building brand awareness
    • Increasing website traffic
    • Creating leads and sales
    You need to analyze your precise requirements and prioritize the objectives of planned ad campaign. If the objective is brand building or pure promotion - banner advertisement is ideally suited. However, if you are more keen on leads and sales - targeted advertisements such as search engine marketing could be better option. In many cases - a mix of banner ad and search engine marketing could be the answer.

    Key Concepts Associated with On-Line Advertisement

    Before proceeding any further, it is important to understand a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements in general and banner advertisement in particular.

    Impression

    Impression is a measure of how many times an ad has been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad or received an "impression" by seeing the ad - is a measurement of responses from the ad delivery system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner on a web page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different from page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views within one page view. There is another distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server.

    CPM

    CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. F

    6 Simple Ways to Manage Your Emails Better
    E-mail, a wonderful communication tool is also the greatest challenge to manage. Hundreds of mails pouring in from friends, forums, business associates, customers and subscribed newsletters and spam mail with enticing subject headers.Just imagine reading even 50 mails a day. It would take two and half hours even if you just spend 3 minutes on an average per mail. Replying to five to six important mails a day would take another hour at 10 minutes a mail.Spending up to 4 hours a day on mails may leave you with little time to do more important work. So how do you manage the clutter of mails?Creating mail foldersThe first thing on setting up a new mail account is to create folders for storing important mails. You can create folders such as personal mails, business mails, priority response, newsletters etc. This will help you sort the important, urgent and casual mails and prioritize your email activ
    brand awareness
  • Increasing website traffic
  • Creating leads and sales
  • You need to analyze your precise requirements and prioritize the objectives of planned ad campaign. If the objective is brand building or pure promotion - banner advertisement is ideally suited. However, if you are more keen on leads and sales - targeted advertisements such as search engine marketing could be better option. In many cases - a mix of banner ad and search engine marketing could be the answer.

    Key Concepts Associated with On-Line Advertisement

    Before proceeding any further, it is important to understand a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements in general and banner advertisement in particular.

    Impression

    Impression is a measure of how many times an ad has been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad or received an "impression" by seeing the ad - is a measurement of responses from the ad delivery system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner on a web page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different from page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views within one page view. There is another distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server.

    CPM

    CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. F

    Blogging To Improve Internet Online Business
    Oxford Dictionary of Modern Slang states “blog noun An Internet website containing an eclectic and frequently updated assortment of items of interest to its author. 1999-. [Shortening of weblog.] So blogger, noun”More meaningful citations could be obtained from the Web. Below is a list of these.- Blog is short for weblog. A weblog is a journal (or newsletter) that is frequently updated and intended for general public consumption. Blogs generally represent the personality of the author or the Web site.- A blog is basically a journal that is available on the web. The activity of updating a blog is "blogging" and someone who keeps a blog is a "blogger." Blogs are typically updated daily using software that allows people with little or no technical background to update and maintain the blog.- A blog is information that is instantly published to a Web site. Blog scripting allows someone to automatically post information to a Web site
    further, it is important to understand a few key concepts associated with on-line advertisements in general and banner advertisement in particular.

    Impression

    Impression is a measure of how many times an ad has been viewed. How many people have viewed a banner ad or received an "impression" by seeing the ad - is a measurement of responses from the ad delivery system. Once a visitor has viewed a banner on a web page - an impression is recorded. Banner views are different from page views in the sense that there may be multiple banner views within one page view. There is another distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server.

    CPM

    CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. F

    Communication is the Key to Successful Reverse Auctions
    You want to have at least three qualified vendors to participate in any competitive bidding process. The best way to guarantee qualified vendor participation is to make yourself accessible so vendors can ask you questions. Not many eRFXs or reverse auctions are perfect in everyway and answer all the questions that the vendors may have. Always include your desk number, fax number and email in all your communications. This will put the vendors at ease because if they know how to get in touch with you, they are more likely to ask questions and feel more comfortable doing business with you.Keep in mind that none of the communication methods work all by themselves. If you do receive questions, answer them soon. Even if it is a simple message that says, “I do not have the answer right now, but I will get back to you when I do get an answer.” A little goes a long way when in comes to communication. No communication will get you nowhere, and possibly no bids.
    other distinction between page view and banner view - some banner serving software do not count a banner view unless the visitor stays on the page long enough for the banner to be fully downloaded from ad server.

    CPM

    CPM refers to cost per thousand (M here stands for 'Mille' - the Roman numeral used to represent 1000). CPM is commonly used by the advertising industry to describe how many people have viewed the banner ad (ad view) or received an "impression" by seeing the ad. In other words, this is the price an advertiser pays for displaying his/her banner 1,000 times. For example, an advertising rate of $10 CPM, means the advertiser is paying $10 for every 1,000 impressions, or $0.01 for each banner impression.

    CTR or Click-Through

    When a visitor gets interested in promotional message of a banner, he/she clicks on it to learn more and is automatically transported to advertiser website. Every time someone clicks on the banner, it is called a "click- through," and the "click-through rate" is expressed in terms of percentage of users who click on an advertisement (i.e. ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions). In other words, click through ratio is an indication of effectiveness of the a banner.

    How Advertiser Pays for Banner Advertisement

    Universally, there are two modes of payment for banner ad -

    • CPM
    • Click-Through
    In some countries like India - there is a third mode of payment based on duration of time a banner is hosted on a web-site. Typically, special server-based software called 'ad-server' rotates banner ads in specified places of a web-site. It also keep track of impressions, click-thorough and other vital statistics. In CPM mode of payment - advertiser pays for number of impressions based on an agreed CPM. For example, if a site charges US$ 9 per CPM - for $450 the advertiser gets $450 / $9 CPM * 1000 = 50,000 impressions If percentage of click thorough is 2 - 4%, advertiser may expect ~ 1000 - 2000 new customers visiting his/her web-site. This is apart from brand building based on number of impressions. In Click-Through mode - Advertisers pays a fixed fee for every click, no matter what is the number of impressions. In time-based banner advertisements (typical in India), advertiser pays a fixed fee based on monthly or quarterly rate, irrespective of the number of impression or click-thorough.

    Types of Banners Advertisements

    Traditional banner ads were static in nature - usually a .gif or .jpeg image file. With technology advancing - new modes of banner ads appeared in ad scene. Following are some of the popular modes of dynamic banner ads

    • Expanding - Banner gets bigger on clicking - often have a button labeled "Expand". Rather than jumping to another website - these banners simply open up and reveal more information
    • Animated - Common mode of banner ad these days. However, too many images/messages may rend

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